home cooking

Impromptu Monday Night Dinner

Hello again!  I wanted to do a fast post about making dinner on the fly, so to speak.  I left the office early today, to avoid all the Ford Fireworks Spectacular nonsense, and went over to the local shop to grab some dinner things.  Have you ever had a day where you just don’t end up making anything like what you shopped for?

Today was that day for me.  I frequently use my well stocked pantry to make some decent dinners, but today, I have to say was pretty darn great.  I came home from the shop with an English cucumber, a green pepper, a box of cherry tomatoes, two lemons, some feta and a packet of flat Lebanese bread.  Seemed pretty straight forward, it would end up being the most wonderful fatoosh in pita bread.  Well, when I got home, I saw the bowl of beet greens we had gotten at Eastern Market on Saturday (I was trying to rehydrate them from their sad wilted state).  Then I opened the freezer to spy the package of quinoa spinach patties that the Hubby picked up at Costco a few weeks ago.  I also noticed that the jar of tahini in the fridge was probably at the end of it’s life.  Suddenly the lure of falafel was in my head and I imagined garlicky sauteed beet greens with quinoa patties and a knock down, smack your mamma it’s so good tahini sauce.  And there it was, dinner!

The sauce I used for this recipe is tried and true, I got it from Nigella Lawson years ago, but I have made it so many times, and with so many proteins, it feel like I have made it my own.  My version goes very heavy on the garlic and cumin, but it’s seriously good.  My mother asks for it all the time with the lamb I love to make for her.  It’s GOOD.

Serious Tahini Sauce

  • 1 cup tahini paste
  • 1 large pinch of course Kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin (don’t use something old, buy fresh)
  • 4 cloves of garlic, processed through a garlic press, or crushed to a pulp
  • Juice of one large lemon
  • 1/4 cup cold water

In a large bowl (trust me on this one) combine the tahini paste, salt, and cumin.  Add the garlic paste and combine everything thoroughly.  Slowly stir in the lemon juice.  It will seize up and become a pasty mess, but don’t panic, just go with it.  Once it’s all combined, you’ll be having difficulty stirring any more.  Slowly add in half of the water, and stir well.  This is where the large bowl comes it, it will splash all over the place, but eventually will smooth out.  Add the remaining water and keep stirring, until you have a fluffy bowl of tahini sauce.  It will seem almost as if it’s slightly whipped, and that’s good.  Chill it for at least 30 minuted before using it.  I guarantee you will love this sauce.

Look at the sad state of the bowl just before I tore off a large piece of flat bread and cleaned the plate with it!

Tahini-on-my-mindWe ate this slathered on flat bread, so huge it’s like a tablecloth, with the sauteed beet greens and the quinoa cakes.  Divine!

Standard

Love to hear your thoughts!

