home cooking

Impromptu Friday Night Dinner

Image

 

Poor Hubby is sick, but unfortunately, I haven’t felt like cooking much!  So, when I got home from work Friday night, I decided to make him something nice, to let him know I care.  But what was in the house that I could whip up?

Have you ever gone to Costco?  They have these ludicrously large bags of frozen kale there, as well as many other frozen veg.  Kale seemed like something I could easily bag up and use so we bought a giant bag, along with a giant bag of green beans.  It has been looking me in the face each time I open the freezer.  So, I decided that was what would be on the menu, at least partially.  I had frozen pastry dough, and some eggs and feta, quiche it is!! 

This is an example of making something out of not much.  It’s barely even a recipe.  I sauteed the frozen kale with olive oil, grated garlic, cumin, hot paprika and some salt and pepper.  I let it cool while I blind baked the pastry shell (5 min in a 375° F oven).  In a bowl I combined 3 large eggs, 1/2 cup cream, but you can use milk, 1/2 tsp of salt, several good grinds of pepper.  Whisk all together, then add about 1/2 cup Parmesan if you have it, if not, omit.  Take the pastry shell out of the oven and let it cool.  Once it’s cool enough to touch, arrange the cooled kale in the bottom of the shell.  Pour the egg mixture over it and gently swirl with a fork to be sure the eggs get everywhere.  Then I strewed it will about 1/2 cup of crumbled feta and put it in the oven.  Bake at 375 for 40 minutes, or until the center is set.

Image

Variations: In place of the kale you can use spinach, zucchini, onion and red peppers, green beans and tomatoes, fennel (I would then add a little ground fennel seed, and more cumin), you could even go meat eater and use crumbled cooked bacon or sausage of any kind. 

Enjoy!!

 

 

Standard

Love to hear your thoughts!

