Uncategorized

Pancakes…. any way you like them!

Ah, Saturday mornings!!  Leisurely, deliberate, lingering, delicious…. NOT!  I usually wake around 8am on any given day off, but quite frankly, I am a “coffee first thing” chick, the food can wait for hours.  My husband is a “food immediately” guy.  So, he usually makes and egg scramble with veg and cheese, less than 15 minutes after our feet hit the floor in the morning.  I of course make the very strong, very dark coffee.  Recently though, I have had a guilt thing going on, so I have made several bits and pieces myself.  I absolutely adore the Welsh rarebit muffins that I stole from Nigella (YUM vegetarian Worchestershire sauce…)  I also love the (completely vegetarian) biscuits and “sausage” gravy I made a few weeks ago for Tim’s birthday breakfast.  Also the cheese scones with very, very sharp Red Leicester cheddar.  But my big fall back is a Ziplock bag of “homemade Bisquick” that I culled from several recipes over the last few years.  With which I make any number of types of pancakes!
About 2 Christmas’ ago, this was the Mommy and Daddy gift I handed out to my brothers, sister and parents.  I have no idea if any of then replenished this after they used it and ran out, so I am giving this wonderful basics recipe to you.  Use it, experiment with it and make it your own.  Just remember, you can change out most of these ingredients, but you MUST have the baking soda, powder, salt ratio has to stay the same.  That’s what gives these babies their heft.
Pancake Mix:
3 cups all purpose flour
1 cup self rising flour (you can use 4 cups of all purpose or replace the cup with whole wheat or any number of other flours)
3 tablespoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Combine all ingredients together in tin, or jar.  Before you use the mix, you should shake the tin or bag, so that all the ingredients are thoroughly mised again.
Pancake recipe:
(makes 6 large or 12 small pancakes)
1 cup of mix
1 cup of milk (or buttermilk)
2 eggs
2 tablespoons of melted butter
1 tsp vanilla

Mix all ingredients in the pancake vessel of your choice.  Don’t mix too hard, leave a lump or two.  Drop by the spoonful onto a hot greased griddle.  Once you see bubbles on the top of the pancake, and it seems drier, flip it.

My very favorite version of this is the buckwheat version… so good and so high in fiber, it’s ridiculous.
Standard

9 thoughts on “Pancakes…. any way you like them!

    • You know I usually add buttermilk into the recipe, I have no idea why I didn’t add it into it on the blog! You can use any milk actually, even a cup of whole milk with a teaspoon of vinegar. The acid in the buttermilk or vinegar reacts with the leavening agents in the mix and makes them fluffy. Great tip!

      Like

  1. Pingback: A Traditional Americas Thanksgiving | Confessions of a Detroit Foodist

Love to hear your thoughts!

